Davide Monteleone
Sinomocene

Venue: Stapferhaus

Project description

While there has been concern raised in the West, recently, regarding a possible end of Globalization as we know it, Davide Monteleone’s long-term project investigates the immense efforts by China to reshape the global movement of goods, services and capital by an infrastructure initiative known as “Belt and Road” or “New Silk Road”, and by doing so tilt the geopolitical balance towards the East. However, there is a certain break between the economic and geopolitical processes at work and how they are manifested in the real world. Much of it remains simply invisible or is too all-encompassing to be pictured, which poses a challenge to an artist working in photography and interested in presenting us with more than the facts. But Monteleone finds intriguing images that back up his extensive research and rich data that informs his stunning photographs.

Monteleone’s photographic project is realised together with the National Geographic Society. The exhibition Simonocene at Stapferhaus is a world-premiere and it will be accompanied by the publication of the book by Artphilein Publications.

We thank for the support De Pietri – Artphilein Foundation.

Author Biography

Davide Monteleone is a photographer, researcher, and National Geographic Fellow whose work spans imaging, visual journalism, writing, and other disciplines. His recurring themes include geopolitics, geography, identity, data and technology. His work has been presented in the form of exhibitions and installations in various galleries and museums all over the world. Monteleone now lives in Zurich.

www.davidemonteleone.com

Exhibition venue:

Stapferhaus, Bahnhofstrasse 49, 5600 Lenzburg

Davide Monteleone
Simonocene

Veranstaltungsort: Stapferhaus

Über das Projekt

Während im Westen in letzter Zeit Besorgnis über ein mögliches Ende der Globalisierung, wie wir sie kennen, geäussert wurde, untersucht Davide Monteleone in seinem Langzeitprojekt die immensen Anstrengungen Chinas, den globalen Waren-, Dienstleistungs- und Kapitalverkehr durch eine als „Belt and Road“ oder „Neue Seidenstrasse“ bekannte Infrastrukturinitiativen neu zu gestalten und damit das geopolitische Gleichgewicht nach Osten zu verschieben. Es besteht jedoch eine gewisse Diskrepanz zwischen den wirtschaftlichen und geopolitischen Prozessen, die am Werk sind, und der Art und Weise, wie sie sich in der realen Welt manifestieren. Vieles davon bleibt unsichtbar oder ist zu allumfassend, um abgebildet zu werden, was eine Herausforderung für einen Künstler darstellt, der mit Fotografie arbeitet und daran interessiert ist, uns mehr als nur die Fakten zu präsentieren. Doch Monteleone findet faszinierende Bilder, die seine umfangreichen Recherchen und die reichhaltigen Daten untermauern, auf denen seine beeindruckenden Fotografien basieren.

Monteleones Fotoprojekt wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der National Geographic Society realisiert. Die Ausstellung Simonocene im Stapferhaus ist eine Weltpremiere und wird von der Veröffentlichung des Buches durch Artphilein Publications begleitet.

Wir danken für die Unterstützung der De Pietri – Artphilein Foundation.

Author Biography

Davide Monteleone ist Fotograf, Forscher und „National Geographic Fellow“, dessen Arbeit die Bereiche Bildgestaltung, visueller Journalismus, das Schreiben und andere Disziplinen umfasst. Zu seinen wiederkehrenden Themen gehören Geopolitik, Geografie, Identität, Daten und Technologie. Seine Arbeiten wurden in Form von Asustellungen und Installationen in diversen Galerien und Museen präsentiert. Monteleone lebt heute in Zürich.

www.davidemonteleone.com

Ausstellungsort:

Stapferhaus, Bahnhofstrasse 49, 5600 Lenzburg